< Go back to blog

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a Story?

13

November

2018

Instagram allows its users to interact with the app on a highly anonymous level. Users are able to look at posts, videos and profiles without notifying the other user. Instagram also keeps the search history of their users private, allowing users to view any profile they want without their followers knowing.

 

If a user interacts with a post by liking or commenting on it, accounts following the user will be able to see the user engaged with the post. This interaction is under the “Following” tab, found by clicking on the heart in the bottom menu of the Instagram mobile app.

 

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot a Story?

 

Instagram does not notify a user if their story was screenshot by another account. This feature was available in previous versions of the app, but Instagram has removed it. Taking a screenshot of an Instagram story is totally anonymous and does not notify the user who posted the story.

 

 

These users will be able to see the story was viewed by a specific account. Every story posted on a personal or business account has the ability to see each user who viewed it. On business accounts, users can see what type of actions and how many actions were taken based off of the story. For example, Instagram will give insights into how many users viewed your profile based off of a specific story. Insights can also tell you how many followers were gained based off of a specific story.

 

These insights are only available for business accounts and range from story insights, photo insights and video insights.

 

While most actions on Instagram are kept anonymous, there are a few that are not. For example, once a user has read a direct message the other members of the message can see they have viewed it.

 

As of publishing, Instagram keeps screenshots anonymous. To see if they change their policy in the future, read the description on future Instagram app updates. The description can be found in your app store and will highlight all of the new features of the update.

 

Does Instagram notify when you screenshot a DM? Find out here